Who are our patients? | Primo Levi Centre

Who are our patients?

The people coming to our care centre are in a state of great suffering. Physical symptoms such as joint pain and severe headaches are commonly seen, which generally accompany significant psychological problems. In France, feelings of insecurity, difficulties in obtaining an official status, along with recurrent suspicion surrounding the exiles, tend to hamper the patients’ abilities to reconstruct their physical and mental states.

The figures given below are for 2015.

qui sont nos patients full def engl






Claudine was born right after the genocide in Rwanda. She never knew her father. She grew up in a protected environment, partly in a boarding school and partly with her mother and younger brother.

It seemed strange to her that her father was never there, but her mother reassured her that he was well, he just had to live in another country. One day, everything began to change, her mother lost her job and was absent for several days. Later, the police picked Claudine up at boarding and took her to the police station to question her. She told the police everything she knew. After two days, a stranger came to get her from the police station and brought her to the airport where they took a plane to a neighboring country. Two days later the man dropped her, alone, in the Charles de Gaulle airport in Paris. All she knew was that this man knew her parents, and that they had paid him to take her to France.

When Claudine came to her first appointment at the care centre, she was thirteen, living in a children home and in the care of Children welfare. She came because she did not understand what had happened to her. During the police interviews, she was given to understand that her father had participated in the genocide. During the consultations, it took her several months to recover some memories such as her classmates’ mockery about her family name and her father’s possible involvement in the genocide. She talked about the shame and the fear she was feeling in her country. She said she was tired. She said that she trusted her mother and that she believed that her mother would soon come to get her, but her silence and lack of contact made her ill. In France, Claudine is a very good student. She has many friends and lives with a foster family where everything is fine, except that there remains something in her that is « dead », « lost ».


Ali is a young boy from Sri Lanka, sent to the Primo Levi Centre by his school. When he was 6, he remained clutching his dead mother for many hours, after she was shot before his eyes. He has been at school in France for two years, he does not speak French yet. He lives in isolation with his father who cannot detach himself from their mother tongue, full of memories… The Primo Levi Centre aims at getting him out of a number of symptoms such as his silence and post-traumatic squint...


Monsieur E. is from Kosovo. He was arrested, imprisoned and tortured by the Serbian militia. He clandestinely fled his country with his family and found refuge in France. After a long administrative process, his asylum application and his appeal were both rejected. Mr. E. has multiple symptoms following his experience as a torture victim including chronic pain, destroyed teeth, insomnia and depression. Psychotherapeutic support from the care centre has helped him find some relief but the refusal of the administration to grant him refugee status has reactivated some of his trauma.


Edna lived in Congo Brazzaville with her eight-year-old daughter, her father and her brother. In search of people from her ethnic group, the militias busted into her house, her words and pleas did not change the outcome. She and her daughter were raped in front of her father and brother. Her daughter was killed. When several months later she and her four-month-old baby were sent to the Primo Levi Centre by a mother and child health facility, Edna could not sleep. She suffered from hallucinations. She confused her new-born with her dead daughter. The therapy provided at the centre helped her talk about her intense feelings of guilt, gave her a place where she could be listened, supported her and helped her change the unbearable into conceivable.


Hassan is a 17-year-old young man from West Africa. He lived with his family until that tragic day when he witnessed the brutal assassination of his mother and younger sister by the military. They were in search of his father, hunted down because of his activist activities. When he arrived in France as a refugee, the Primo Levi Centre took him into care. He felt very bad. As he was living in fear and pain, he began to tell his story. Little by little, he was gradually able to detach himself from his traumatic history and talk about his suffering

Qui sont nos patients ? | Centre Primo Levi

Qui sont nos patients ?

Les patients reçus au centre de soins arrivent dans un état de très grande souffrance. Aux séquelles physiques telles que des douleurs articulaires, des maux de têtes violents s'ajoutent des troubles psychiques importants. En France, la précarité, les difficultés à obtenir un statut et la suspicion récurrente qui pèse sur les exilés entravent leur reconstruction.

Les chiffres suivants concernent les patients suivis en 2016.

qui sont nos patients full






Claudine est née juste après le génocide au Rwanda. Elle n’a jamais connu son père. Elle a grandi dans un univers protégé, en partie dans un internat et auprès de sa mère et de son jeune frère.

L’absence de son père lui semble étrange, mais sa mère la rassure en lui disant qu’il va bien, qu’il doit juste vivre dans un autre pays. Un jour, tout commence à changer. Sa mère perd son travail et s’absente pendant plusieurs jours. Plus tard, des policiers viennent chercher Claudine à l’internat. Ramenée au commissariat, elle est interrogée sur son père. Elle raconte tout ce qu’elle sait. Au bout de deux jours, un homme, inconnu, vient la chercher au commissariat, l’amène à l’aéroport d'où ils prennent un avion pour un pays voisin. Deux jours plus tard, elle est lâchée, seule, dans l’aéroport Charles de Gaulle à Paris par le même homme. Tout ce qu’elle sait, c’est que cet homme connaissait ses parents et que c’est eux qui l’ont payé pour l’emmener en France.

Quand Claudine vient pour la première fois en consultation au centre de soins, elle a treize ans, habite dans un foyer et est prise en charge par l’Aide Sociale à l’Enfance. Elle vient parce qu’elle ne comprend rien à ce qui lui est arrivé. Lors des interrogatoires de la police, elle avait cru comprendre que son père avait participé au génocide. Lors des consultations, il lui faudra plusieurs mois pour retrouver des souvenirs, comme les moqueries que ses camarades faisaient sur son nom de famille et la possible participation de son père au génocide. Elle parle de la honte, de la peur aussi qu’elle avait ressenties au pays. Elle se dit fatiguée. Comme elle a confiance en sa mère, elle pense que celle-ci viendra vite la chercher, mais ce silence et son absence la rendent malade. En France, Claudine est une très bonne élève. Elle a beaucoup d’amis et vit dans une famille d’accueil où tout se passe très bien, sauf qu'il y a quelque chose en elle qui est « mort », « perdu ».


Ali est un petit garçon originaire du Sri Lanka adressé au Centre Primo Levi par son école. A 6 ans, il est resté plusieurs heures accroché au corps de sa mère, mortellement blessée sous ses yeux lors d’une fusillade. Scolarisé depuis 2 ans en France, il ne parle toujours pas le français. Il vit en vase clos avec son père qui ne parvient pas à se détacher de la langue maternelle, chargée de souvenirs … Le travail au Centre Primo Levi s’efforcera de le sortir d’une kyrielle de symptômes allant d’un mutisme défensif à un strabisme post-traumatique …


Monsieur E. est originaire du Kosovo. Il a été arrêté, emprisonné et torturé par des milices serbes. Fuyant clandestinement son pays avec sa famille, il a trouvé refuge en France. Après une longue procédure administrative sa demande d’asile et son recours sont refusés. Monsieur E. souffre de séquelles multiples : douleurs chroniques, dentition détruite, insomnies, troubles dépressifs. La prise en charge psychothérapeutique au centre de soins lui permet de trouver un certain apaisement mais les refus de l’administration réactivent les traumatismes.


Edna vivait au Congo Brazzaville avec sa fille de huit ans, son père et son frère. Quand les milices à la recherche de personnes de son ethnie font irruption dans la maison, ses paroles et ses suppliques ne changent rien. Elle et sa fille sont violées devant le père et le frère. Sa fille est tuée. Quand elle arrive plusieurs mois plus tard, sur les conseils de la PMI (centre de protection maternelle et infantile), au Centre Primo Levi avec son bébé de 4 mois, Edna ne dort plus. Elle souffre d’hallucinations. Elle confond son nouveau-né avec sa fille morte. La thérapie lui permettra petit à petit de parler de son intense sentiment de culpabilité. D’instaurer un espace d’écoute, de soutien et de transformation de l’insupportable en pensable.


Hassan est un jeune homme de 17 ans, originaire d’un pays d’Afrique de l’ouest. Il vivait avec sa famille jusqu’au jour tragique où il a été témoin du brutal assassinat de sa mère et de sa petite sœur, tuées par des militaires à la recherche de son père, pourchassé pour ses activités militantes. Réfugié en France, il est pris en charge au Centre Primo Levi. Il va très mal. Commence à dire ce qui lui est arrivé mais il est habité par la terreur, par la douleur et la peur. Ce n’est que peu à peu qu’il peut se décoller de cette scène traumatique et parler de sa souffrance.