History

History

Faced with the complexity and specific nature of troubles associated with torture, many organizations committed to the defense of human rights, (the French branches of Amnesty International and of Doctors of the World, ACAT, “Juristes sans frontières”, and “Trève”, an association of psychologists) decided to create the Primo Levi Centre in 1995.

Originally, the clinic relied on a founding team rich of an acquired experience gained over many years within the AVRE (Association des victimes de la répression en exil).


When the clinic opened, the international political context was of the gravest: war in former Yugoslavia, genocide in Rwanda and, shortly thereafter, the dark years of violence in Algeria. The political contexts as well as the proximity and scale of the violence perpetrated in these countries led to continued questioning within the organizations and among the people involved in the founding of the Primo Levi Centre.


Moreover, the policies towards foreigners in France and Europe could not leave indifferent those professionals working with victims of torture and political violence. A climate of suspicion facing asylum seekers was building up. They were strictly forbidden the right to work and to learn French while waiting for their application for asylum to be processed. They were less and less welcome.


The right to asylum and the hope of protection was being increasingly flouted. Under these conditions, it was necessary to integrate the care project under a larger organization, to become more comprehensive and more political.


The association undertook the necessary task of reporting on the use of torture and the rejection of refugees, but the commitment of doctors to bear witness from their clinics was also necessary.

Histoire

Histoire

C’est face à la complexité et la spécificité des troubles liés à la torture que plusieurs associations engagées dans la défense des droits humains (la section française d’Amnesty International, Médecins du Monde, l’ACAT, Juristes sans frontières et Trèves une association de psychologues) décident au cours de l’année 1995, de créer le Centre Primo Levi.

A l’origine, le centre de soins s’est appuyé sur une équipe fondatrice porteuse d’une expérience acquise au cours de plusieurs années au sein de l’AVRE (association pour les victimes de la répression en exil). Au moment de l’ouverture du centre de soins, le contexte politique international était des plus graves : la guerre en ex-Yougoslavie, le génocide au Rwanda et, peu de temps après, les années sombres de la violence en Algérie. La proximité et l’ampleur de ces violences, les contextes politiques qui les rendaient possibles, ne cessaient d’interroger les associations et les personnes impliquées dans la fondation du Centre Primo Levi.


Par ailleurs, les politiques à l’égard des étrangers en France et en Europe ne pouvaient laisser indifférents ces professionnels travaillant auprès des personnes victimes de la torture et de la violence politique. Un climat de suspicion vis-à-vis des demandeurs d’asile s’installait à grand pas. Le droit de travailler, d’apprendre le français en attendant le traitement de leur demande d’asile, leur était formellement interdit. L’accueil se dégradait. Le droit d’asile et l’espoir d’une protection se voyaient de plus en plus bafoués.


Dans ces conditions, un projet de soin auprès de ces personnes devait nécessairement s’insérer dans un projet associatif plus large, plus complet et politique. Si c’était à l’association que revenait la nécessaire fonction de témoignage sur la pratique de la torture et le déni des réfugiés, il revenait aux cliniciens de s’engager à témoigner de leur clinique.